Rules      FAQ       Register        Login
It is currently June 15th, 2024, 6:40 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Banner effects
PostPosted: September 15th, 2005, 6:00 am 

Hi!
I'm fairly new to making banners, and i was just wonderin if anyone could give me ANY help on any effects shown on various banners (on this site)? For example, how can you make Liv Tylers or Elijahs eyes look very blue and stand out, etc?
Any help is very much appreciated! (By the way, I'm using Adobe Photoshop 7.0 at the moment!)
Thanks heaps!!!!!
Amowiel :-D

Post subject:
PostPosted: September 15th, 2005, 8:23 pm 
Maia
Maia

To make the eye effect there's a very good tutorial here:
magicbox.ti-fi.com

But since I'm ignorant and don't know how to link things I'll just copy and paste it for you right here....it's kinda cool.

HOW TO TREAT EYES IN PHOTOSHOP

You have probably seen this treatment in a lot of art: the eyes of the featured person look very bright, or very clear, or much more intense than they did before. In this tutorial I will show you some tricks to change the look of someone's eyes.

Step #1: Open a new file. Then paste the image you want to work with.
>> Step #1 picture

Step #2: Apply a smart blur to the image you just pasted. I usually set the treshold between 12 and 16.
>> Step #2 picture

Step #3: Now pick the blur tool and start blurring the sharp edges made by the smart blur. Be careful not to blur too much the face because you can take a lot of expression from it you do.
>> Step #3 picture

Step #4: With the dodge tool now, start lightening the white areas of the eye. Not only that, you can lighten any area that you wish to be highlighted, like the make up for example.
>> Step #4 picture

Step #5: You can also lighten the lightbursts in the eye, the reflections. Don't be afraid to lighten too much.
>> Step #5 picture